田兴

上海纽约大学神经与认知科学助教授
言语是我们每天日常交流所使用的最基础、最自然的沟通方式。我们需要频繁的的发音和听声来有效的交流信息,这就要求一个高效的理解声音与制造声音的连接机制。 通过使用电生理学(脑电/脑磁/经颅脑电)和神经影像学(功能磁共振成像)技术的行为或者计算研究方式,我们想要研究运动感知相互联系(言语理解及产生控制回路中最核心的一环)的功能及其与语言、学习、记忆、想象同其他的高级认知功能的关联。 更普遍的来说,我把言语和语言作为一个研究模型来探索人类认知的神经计算机制。详细研究情况请参考研究方向的描述。

研究方向

概括的来说,我的研究方向是在认知神经科学领域--主要研究人类认知功能的神经机制。其包括至少两个主要研究方向:神经的表征和计算。神经的表征是指信息是如何在我们大脑中表征的;而神经计算是指神经的表征是如何形成和改变的。我认为存在一种通用普遍的神经计算机制,称作典型神经计算,其可以应用到不同的模态和认知领域的信息处理中。我在我自己的研究中使用言语和语言来作为模型去探索反应人类认知功能的典型神经计算两种神经计算方式最为主要:

我也对跨学科研究感兴趣,比如神经科学和计算机科学领域之间。通过与计算机科学领域的教授(张峥教授和邱锡鹏教授)合作,我们想要在言语语言领域建立一个横跨人工智能和人类智慧的桥梁。例如,我们研究自然语言处理和语言神经机制处理上的共性,特别是在语义层面上。而且,我们也想要使用周期性的神经网络模型去测试神经科学的理论和模型,比如偏侧性和运动感知转化。我们努力的目标是结合两个学科的优势,借用优秀的模型和方法,在引领神经科学的发展的同时,使现有的人工智能更加靠近人类智慧。

组内人员

PI

研究助理

博士后研究员

学生

本科生/实习生

校友

合作者

发表文章

发表中

Tian, X., Ding, N., Teng, X., Bai F., &Poeppel, D. (in press). Imagined speech influences perceived loudness of sound. Nature Human Behavior.

2017

Teng, X., Tian, X., Rowland, J.,&Poeppel, D. (2017). Concurrent temporal channels for auditory processing: Oscillatory neural entrainment reveals segregation of function at different scales. PLoS biology, 15(11), e2000812.

Teng, X., Tian, X., Doelling, K., &Poeppel, D. (2017). Theta band oscillations reflect more than entrainment: behavioral and neural evidence demonstrates an active chunking process. European Journal of Neuroscience.

2016

2015

2013

2012

2011

2010

Tian, X., & Poeppel, D. (2010). Mental imagery of speech andmovement implicates the dynamics of internal forward models. Front. Psychology, 1:166. doi: 10.3389/fpsyg.2010.00166

Tian, X., & Huber, D.E. (2010). Testing an associative account of semantic satiation. Cognitive Psychology,60, 267-290.

2008

教学概况

课程

客座讲座

职位招募

研究资源

TopoToolbox是一个开源的软件,致力于解决事件相关脑电/脑磁数据的拓扑分析,基于Tian和Huber(2008;2011)提出的方法。TopoToolbox为研究者提供了一个直接获取有关于拓扑性反应相关性以及由在传感器位置上的电磁信号产生的心理意义反应量级的准确测量的工具。这些分析在无解剖学描述的情况下验证心理学理论极为实用。 此软件主要提供以下三个功能:

  1. 角度测量:测量不同实验条件中,topo的相似度。

  2. 投射测量:以一个标准样板规格化个体差异来测量反应程度。

  3. 角度力学测量:评估时间线上的模式相似度。 此软件由Dr. Xing Tian, Dr. David Poeppel 和 Dr. David E. Huber共同开发. 其需要MATLAB平台运行,支持多种标准数据格式。请注明引用当您使用该软件用来发表文章:

    Tian, X., & Huber, D. (2008). Measures of spatial similarity and response magnitude in MEG and scalp EEG. Brain Topography, 20(3), 131-141.

    Tian, X., Poeppel, D., & Huber, D.E. (2011). TopoToolbox: Using sensor topography to calculate psychologically meaningful measures from event-related EEG/MEG. Computational Intelligence and Neuroscience, 2011. doi:10.1155/2011/674605

如果您有任何问题或者建议,请联系我,邮箱:xing.tian@nyu.edu

联系方式

欢迎感兴趣的学生,博士后研究人员及合作者来直接与我联系。

田兴 邮箱: xing.tian@nyu.edu

Xing Tian

Assistant Professor of Neural and Cognitive Sciences at NYU Shanghai
Speech is the most fundamental and natural way that enables us to communicate every day. We need to constantly receive and produce sounds to effectively exchange information, which demands an effective interface between perception and production. Using electrophysiological (MEG/EEG/ECoG) and neuroimaging (fMRI) techniques with behavioral and computational approaches, we aim to investigate the function of motor sensory interaction, which is at the core of the speech perception-production control loop, as well as its relation to language, learning, memory, mental imagery, and other higher order cognitive functions. More generally, I use speech and language as a model to investigate neural computations underlying human cognition. Please refer to Research for more scientific details.

Research

Broadly speaking, my research is in the field of cognitive neuroscience, in which the major task is to investigate the neural bases of (human) cognition. It includes at least two major directions ofresearch – neural representation and neural computation. Neural representation is how information is represented in our brain; neural computation is how the neural representation is formed and manipulated. I believe there are generic kinds of neural computation, called canonical neural computation, which can be applied to information processes indifferent modalities and cognitive domains. For my specific research interest I use speech and language as a model to investigate canonical neural computation underlying human cognition. Two kinds of canonical neural computation is of particular interest:

I am also interested in cross-disciplinary research, such as between neuroscience and computer science. By collaborating with faculty in computer science (ZhengZhang and Xipeng Qiu), we are aiming to build a bridge between artificial intelligence (AI) and human intelligence in the areas of speech and language. For example, we investigate the commonality between natural language processing and neural bases of language processing, especially in the aspect of semantics. Moreover, we would like to use recurrent neural network models to test neuroscience theories and models, such as lateralization and motor-to-sensory transformation.The purpose of this endeavor is to advance both fields – borrow methods andmodels from computer science to understand our brain better, while lending neuroscience findings, and models to make AI smarter and more human-like.

People

Principal Investigator

Research Associates

Postdoctoral fellows

Graduate students

Undergraduates/Interns

Alumni

Collaborators

Publications

In Press

Tian, X., Ding, N., Teng, X., Bai F., &Poeppel, D. (in press). Imagined speech influences perceived loudness of sound. Nature Human Behavior.

2017

Teng, X., Tian, X., Rowland, J.,&Poeppel, D. (2017). Concurrent temporal channels for auditory processing: Oscillatory neural entrainment reveals segregation of function at different scales. PLoS biology, 15(11), e2000812.

Teng, X., Tian, X., Doelling, K., &Poeppel, D. (2017). Theta band oscillations reflect more than entrainment: behavioral and neural evidence demonstrates an active chunking process. European Journal of Neuroscience.

2016

2015

2013

2012

2011

2010

Tian, X., & Poeppel, D. (2010). Mental imagery of speech andmovement implicates the dynamics of internal forward models. Front. Psychology, 1:166. doi: 10.3389/fpsyg.2010.00166

Tian, X., & Huber, D.E. (2010). Testing an associative account of semantic satiation. Cognitive Psychology,60, 267-290.

2008

Teaching

Course

Guest Lecturer

Open Positions

Resources

TopoToolbox is an open-source software for topographic analysis on the event-related electrophysiological (EEG/MEG) data based on the method proposed by Tian and Huber (2008; 2011). TopoToolbox provides a tool for researchers to directly derive robust measures of response pattern (topographic) similarity and psychological meaningful response magnitude using electromagnetic signals in sensor space. These measures are useful for testing psychological theories without anatomical descriptions. Three functions are provided in this toolbox:

  1. Angle test: testing topographic similarity between experimental conditions

  2. Projection test: normalizing individual difference against a template to measure response magnitude

  3. Angle dynamics test: assessing pattern similarity over time. This toolbox is developed by Dr. Xing Tian, Dr. David Poeppel and Dr. David E. Huber. It requires MATLAB (The Mathworks, Inc.) environments and supports various of standard data format imported from EEGLAB as well as user defined dataset. Please cite the following references if you use the TopoToolbox for publications or public releases:

    Tian, X., & Huber, D. (2008). Measures of spatial similarity and response magnitude in MEG and scalp EEG. Brain Topography, 20(3), 131-141.

    Tian, X., Poeppel, D., & Huber, D.E. (2011). TopoToolbox: Using sensor topography to calculate psychologically meaningful measures from event-related EEG/MEG. Computational Intelligence and Neuroscience, 2011. doi:10.1155/2011/674605

Should you have any questions or comments regarding this toolbox, please contact me at xing.tian@nyu.edu

Contact

Prospective students, postdoctoral researchers and collaborators are welcomed to contact us directly.

Xing Tian (田兴) E-mail: xing.tian@nyu.edu